trip to DC

Well I’m back in Wilkes Barre and after suiting up last night for the first time in pro hockey, albeit just backing up we have the day off and I have some time to reflect on my trip to Washington, D.C. for the Hobey Baker award ceremonies.

I flew in to Washinton on Thursday night and upon my arrival a Lincoln car was awaiting me at the airport to take me to my downtown hotel.  I got in around 8 and quickly changed and headed to the rink to catch the second semi-final game, BU versue Vermont.  What a game it was.  A great college hockey game that was back and forth with lead changes, big hits, great goals, and a BU comeback that would turn out to be the theme of the weekend.  My parents flew in that night as well to spend the weekend with me.  Friday morning we got up and met our host for the day from the Hobey Baker Committee, Joe.  We went down to the rink and met the other two candidates, Matt Gilroy and Colin Wilson and thier families.  Obviously we have a little hatred towards BU on the ice but off the ice hockey players are all generally good guys and they were no different.  We met in the rink with the ESPN tv crew who walked us through everything that was going to happen on the show that night.  We also met with the two tv personalities who were going to interview us that night to give them a feel for us as a family.  That was a surprise to my parents who did not really want to have anything to do with being on tv, so they were probably more nervous than I was but they did great!  After that we had some time off, and as we had never been to Washington before we walked over to the White House, only a couple blocks away.  It was a little smaller than what I had imagined but cool nonetheless.  That afternoon we had an autograph session with the three finalists at a restaurant close to the rink.  It was fun to be able to interact with the fans and the two other players signing different Hobey Baker memorabilia.  After that, a few more hours passed before it was time to head to the rink.  The actualy ceremony really went by quickly, from walking out of the penalty box for the introduction, to the interview, to the announcement.  It took place in the rink, and there were a couple thousand fans in attendance, helped by a large BU contingent.  I wasn’t expecting to win, it would have come as a complete surprise as I believe Matt Gilroy was the best player in college hockey this year, and congratulations to him, well deserved.  It was such a great experience, I did not leave empty handed as they had a framed picture of the three of us.  The Hobey Baker Committee did such a great job to make the weekend a memorably one and everything was done first class.  It is something that I will never forget and I’m glad that my parents got to be there to experience it with me.  I didn’t get a chance to stay for the final game, I was back in Wilkes Barre on Saturday, but watched the overtime and it was a fantastic finish, good for college hockey. 

Later on tonight I will have a recap of the semester of blogging, the last assignment we have for the class blog.

Leave a Reply

