my helmet

I’ve had a few questions regarding my helmet and what my thought process was in designing it so this post is dedicated to that.  I was once told that goaltending is 10% ability and 90% about how good you look while playing.  (I have to attribute that to Dan Marshall, an old play by play announcer of my junior team)  I will admit that most goalies are extremely concerned about how their equipment looks.  You have to have good style while playing.  The helmet is a chance for the goalie to put his own personal stamp on his equipment.  For me, I’m not big on creativity, never have, never will be.  When I came to Northeastern it was the first opportunity I ever had to design my own helmet.  I didn’t really know what to do so I told the guy who was painting it I wanted a husky on both sides, the Northeastern N on the chin, and on the back I wanted a Canadian flag, the Husky paw, and Huskies written across the bottom.  The painter was Stephane Bergeron of Mission Itech Hockey.  He does a number of NHL masks and has a really cool website of masks he has done which you can find here.  So anyways he come up with this helmet below, and that was my mask for the first 2 years here at NU.  That helmet is at home so my mom was the one who took these pictures for me, included in them was my dad modeling the helmet so I figured I would add him in there, looks good on him.
and that's my dad previewing what my helmet looks like in action

and that's my dad previewing what my helmet looks like in action

side look at my first husky helmet

side look at my first husky helmet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All right so for my second helmet (we usually get a new one every two years at school provided it is still in good working condition) I wanted to do something different so I started looking around on Steph’s website and watching games in the NHL.  It was Stanley Cup Finals time and Marc Andre Fleury’s helmet from the Pittsburgh Penguins caught my eye.  I found this picture on a blog entitled Masks of Glory a blog dedicated to goalie masks.

marc-andre fleury's helmet

marc-andre fleury's helmet

I liked the idea behind it, he has a brick wall, significant for a goaltender by suggesting he is a brick wall and not letting anything through.  He has an angry penguin breaking through that brick wall, as well as his number breaking through on the chin.  So I decided to go with it.  It seems as I was not the only one as I have seen something similar to this on a number of helmets this season.   Here are some pictures below.

side view of my helmet

side view of my helmet

 

top view of the husky on top of my helmet

top view of the husky on top of my helmet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 So there you have my helmet, I somehow misplaced the picture I took of the back of it.  I’m more of a fan of the new one, little bit meaner looking husky and a little more colorful.  There are a lot of cool ones out there so I encourage you to look at Steph’s website if you are into that sort of thing.  Hope you enjoyed it, be back tomorrow to talk some playoff hockey.

2 Responses to “my helmet”

  1. Brendan O'Dowd Says:

    Nice lid!

  2. Awesome, thanks Brad…I’ve never seen them up close, they look badass. Nice choices.

Leave a Reply

